Norway’s most notorious musician to be released from prison

It was just 16 years ago that black-metal icon Varg Vikernes, who murdered Mayhem’s guitarist and set three churches on fire, was sitting in an Oslo court, smiling as he received a maximum sentence. Best known as the leader of Burzum, Vikernes was also a far-right political activist.

Though he was refused four times for parole – most recently in September 2008 – Vikernes is now set to walk free, he told Daglabet magazine.

“I’m ready for society — and I have been for many years,” Vikernes emphasised in an interview last July. “I have learned from my mistakes and become older. Now I just want to be together with my family … I have barely seen my son since he came into the world. Even though I hear his voice on the phone almost every day, it is very tough to not be present while he is growing up.”

Read more at Guardian: “Don’t blame black metal for Varg Vikernes’s extremism”

2 Comments

Filed under Music

2 responses to “Norway’s most notorious musician to be released from prison

  1. Arlette

    Jammer dat ‘ie geen muziek meer gaat maken, omdat de gitaar is uitgevonden door ‘zwarte’ mensen. Aap.

  2. generationbass

    I feel a biography w/ biopic coming up🙂

Leave a Reply

